Tour of Miracle Farms

 

Farm visits are scheduled on the first Saturday of every month, from May to October, at 10am in French and 2 pm in English.

 

The grocery isle concept
Stefan sobkowiak

  • 1) 1 grassy lane 2 rows
  • 2) Fruit trees planted by harvest date, rows 2 by2
  • 3) Planting plan in rows: NA1P1, NA2P2, NA3P3, NA4P1, NA1P2,…N= nitrogen fixer. It’s roles: fix nitrogen for surrounding fruit trees and shrubs, hold the overhead wire, bee forage, leaves as forage and organic matter.A= Apple 150 cultivars (cvs) on the farm, 50 cvs in front block (2 acres), 50 cvs middle block (2.5 acres), 50cvs in nursery to plant. Not 2 consecutive apple trees in a row. Not the same cv consecutive (A1, A2, A3…)P= pear or plum. 16 cvs of pears, 6 cvs of plums. Plums primarily ‘Mount Royal’.
  • 4) Training the tree vs Pruning.
  • 5) Every fruit tree is associated with 1 fruiting shrub planted to the SW of it to prevent sunscald, caused by the suns reflection off the snow. Shrub species are: red curant (red lake), gooseberry (hinnomaki red, captivator), black currant (ben sarek), jostaberry, haskap (blue belle, berry blue).
  • 6) Every fruit tree is associated with 4-24 flowers, herbs, vegetables. These are planted in 3-5 rows with shortest plants along the grassy lane and tallest in the middle of the row.
  • 7) Trees, shrubs, flowers, herbs and vegetables are planted according to their harvest date.
  • 8) Each harvest period lasts 10 days. There are 3 harvest periods per month.
  • 9) Each pair of rows can have between 2 to 4 harvest periods per year.
  • In this complexity there is a simplicity of pattern.
  • 10) The planting design is intended to make it harder on pest insects. They can’t jump from tree to tree as they do in a conventional or organic orchard. The plant diversity is designed to harbour the pest’s predators. Traps for pests: for apple maggot fly and coddling moths.Results: to be determined.
  • 11) Fruit tree diseases: apple and pear scab. Cvs were selected with greater or complete resistance to this disease.Result: a huge reduction of scab disease.
  • 12) Maintenance: 2 sheets of plastic and 3 lines of drip tape. Automated irrigation insures an adequate supply of water. 4-8 hours of manual weeding per hectare (2.5 acres) per year! Without any use of herbicide.
  • 13) Allies: birds, more than 150 nest boxes, frog ponds, rock piles for snakes, bat boxes. Domestic animals: turkeys, chickens, guinea fowl, ducks, geese, quail.
A demonstration of fruit tree grafting (and/or budding). A sampling of available fruits. Fruit, vegetables and herbs for sale. Have lunch with us in the orchard.

Cost: $30 per person

Eventbrite - Miracle Farm Tour - En


Private tour

Your own tour of the Farm

PRIVATE TOUR COST: We ask for a minimum of $150 to organize a private tour or $30 per person for a group of 6 or more. Organize a group tour and you assist for FREE.

Testimonials

Following our visit to your orchard on September 18, I would like on behalf of those present, to express our appreciation for this wonderful day spent with you. We enjoyed your hospitality. What a pleasure to enjoy organic melons fresh from the garden, as well as other fruits, it was a real treat. Your generosity for all your guidance, the answers to all our questions and for all this time with us, made this day a true success story. No reading on the subject would have been as interesting as the information received during our visit. Everyone walked away with much more than knowledge. Thank you for agreeing to share your knowledge while letting us visit your orchard.Denise Lavergne, SHEB President
With a visit to your garden last Sunday, It’s been an adventure that continues for me with renewed enthusiasm! You are a valuable and inspiring person: thank you to show us your enthusiasm! Your expressive “Wow!” Accompanied by an unforgettable smile is powerful for the rest of the world. Thank you again!Marc-André
I enjoyed my day, especially the way you do things, your simplicity, meeting great people, the trick to the multiplication of Cassis … the apricots, it’s very engaging. Fragrant Myrhe the Meadowsweet, all herbs … Beware of Comfrey is very intrusive. Thank you for the wonderful day! Good luck in all your projects!Odette Simard, Joliette
The PDC course could not be better. I really enjoyed the experience . It bluntly made me want to implement a business plan similar to a natural environment ( for medium and long term when I have more training ), but on a smaller scale to begin with and others ( coop ? or other? ) . This is the beginning of a pregnancy. I am very pleased that you could benefit from a return ( in farm work ) for your generosity and me to participate in my measure . THANK YOU VERY MUCH . ( I was actually on the floor on Sunday! Hi! Hi! ) . I am very pleased that you are planning to repeat the same formula this year . The practical experience , in addition to learning , is making strides in itself, to germinate a call to something, identify what is for oneself or not to dare undertake thereafter. It will be wonderful to see the progression of all plants and animals. See you soon !Marie-Claude

Visites Guidées

 

Les visites à la Ferme se tiennent mensuellement, le premier samedi du mois, de Mai à Octobre à 10:00 en français et à 14:00 en anglais.

 

Le concept des allées d’épicerie
Stefan sobkowiak

  • 1) 1 allée 2 rangées
  • 2) Arbres fruitiers plantés par date de récolte, 2 rangés par 2
  • 3) Plan de plantation dans une rangé: NPo1Pr1, NPo2Pr2, NPo3Pr3, NPo4Pr1, NPo1Pr2,… N= fixateur d’azote, ses rôles: fixer l’azote pour les fruitiers et petits fruits autour, tenir le fil, nourrir les abeilles (févier), feuilles pour matière organique. Po= pomme 150 cultivars (cvs) sur la ferme, 50 cvs dans le bloc avant. Pas 2 pommes qui se suivent. Pas 2 du même cv qui se suivent Po1,Po2,Po3 Pr= poire ou prune. 16 cvs de poires, 6 cvs de prunes. Prunes surtout la Mont Royal.
  • 4) La conduite de l’arbre vs la taille.
  • 5) Chaque arbre est associé à 1 arbuste fruitier planté au SO pour contrer la maladie du SO. Une brûlure causé par la réflexion du soleil sur la neige. Les espèces d’arbustes fruitiers sont: gadellier (red lake), groseiller (hinnomaki red, captivator), cassis (ben sarek), jostaberry, camerisier (blue belle, berry blue).
  • 6) Chaque arbre est associé à 4-24 fleurs, fines herbes, légumes. Celles-ci sont plantés dans 5 rangés allant des plantes basses le long de l’allée gazonné au plus haut dans le centre de la rangé.
  • 7) Les arbres, arbustes, fleurs fines herbes et légumes sont plantés selon la période de cueillette.
  • 8) Chaque période de cueillette dure 10 jours. Il y a 3 périodes de cueillette par mois.
  • 9) Chaque paire de rangés peut avoir entre 2 à 4 périodes de cueillettes par année. Donc dans cette complexité il y a une simplicité de répétition.
  • 10) Le design de plantation est aussi conçu pour confondre les insectes ravageurs. Ils ne peuvent sauter d’un arbre à un autre comme dans un verger conventionnel. La complexité des plantes est conçu pour héberger les prédateurs des ravageurs. Pièges pour insectes ravageurs: contre mouche de la pomme et carpocapse de la pomme. Résultat: à déterminer.
  • 11) Les maladies des fruitiers: tavelure de pommier et poirier. Les cvs de ces fruitiers sont choisis pour leur résistance à cette maladie. Résultat: une grosse réduction de la tavelure sans arroser.
  • 12) Entretien: 2 Paillis plastique et 3 lignes d’irrigation avec contrôleur automatisé assure un apport d’eau adéquat. 4-8 heures de désherbage manuel par hectare! (100m2), sans aucun herbicide.
  • 13) Les alliés: oiseaux plus de 150 nichoirs, bassins à grenouilles, amas de roches pour couleuvres, chauve souris. Animaux domestique: dinde, poulet, pintade, caille, faisan.
Une démonstration d’écussonnage (greffe) de pommier. Une dégustation des fruits disponibles. Des fruits et légumes à vendre. Prenez votre lunch avec nous dans le verger.

Coût: $30 par personne

Eventbrite - Tour Fermes Miracle - Fr


Tour privé

Organisez votre propre visite

COÛTS: Nous demandons un minimum de 150$ pour l’organisation d’un tour privé ou 30$ par personne pour un groupe de 6 ou plus. Organisez un groupe et vous assistez GRATUITEMENT.

Témoignages

Suite à notre visite à votre verger le 18 septembre dernier, j’aimerais au nom des personnes présentes, vous exprimer toute notre appréciation pour cette magnifique journée passée chez-vous. Nous avons beaucoup apprécié votre accueil. Quel plaisir de déguster des melons biologiques tout frais sortis du potager, ainsi que les autres fruits, c’était un vrai régal. Votre grande générosité pour tous vos précieux conseils, pour les réponses à toutes nos questions et pour tout ce temps passé avec nous, a fait de cette journée une vraie belle réussite. Aucune lecture sur le sujet n’aurait été aussi intéressante que les informations reçues lors de notre visite. Tout le monde est reparti avec bien plus que des connaissances acquises. Merci d’avoir accepté de partager vos connaissances tout en nous laissant visiter votre verger.Denise Lavergne, Présidente de la SHEB
Avec la visite de votre jardin dimanche dernier, c’est toute une aventure qui se poursuit pour moi, avec un élan renouvelé!  Vous êtes une personne précieuse et inspirante: merci de manifester votre enthousiasme!  Vos expressifs «Wow!» accompagnés d’un inoubliable sourire sont puissants pour la suite du monde. Merci encore!Marc-André
J’ai bien aimé ma journée, surtout votre façon de faire les choses, votre simplicité, la rencontre de gens superbes, le truc pour la multiplication des Cassis… J’ai des abricotiers, si ça adonne, je pourrais vous en donner. La Myrhe odorante, la Reine des Prés, toutes les plantes aromatiques ce serait beau chez vous… Attention à la Consoude, c’est très envahissant. Merci de la merveilleuse journée! Bonne chance dans tous vos projets!Odette Simard, Joliette
La formation continu en PDC ne pourrait pas être mieux. J’ai vraiment BEAUCOUP aimé l’expérience. Cela m’a carrément tout simplement donné envie de concrétiser un projet d’entreprise semblable, dans un milieu naturel (à moyen, long terme lorsque j’aurai plus de formation), mais à plus petite échelle pour commencer et avec d’autres (en coop ? ou autre ?). C’est le début d’une gestation. Je suis très heureuse que tu aies pu bénéficier d’un retour (en travail à la ferme) de ta grande générosité et moi d’y participer à ma mesure. MERCI BEAUCOUP. (J’ai effectivement été sur le carreau dimanche! hi ! hi !). Je suis très heureuse que tu planifies répéter la formule cette année même. L’expérience concrète, en plus de faire apprendre, fait faire des pas de géants en soi, pour faire germer un appel à quelque chose, identifier ce qui est pour soi ou pas, pour oser entreprendre par la suite. Cela va être merveilleux de pouvoir voir la progression de tous les plants et animaux. à bientôt donc,Marie-Claude